The European Broadcasting Union (EBU) has officially confirmed that Russia will not participate in the Eurovision Song Contest 2017.

The organization said that after the participant from Russia Yulia Samoilova was banned from entering Ukraine, they did their best to find solutions that would allow Samoilova to take part in the contest.

"These proposals were to either take part via satellite or to change their chosen artist to one who could legally travel to Ukraine for the duration of the Contest. Sadly both proposals have been rejected by Channel One and they have now announced they do not intend to broadcast the Eurovision Song Contest 2017. Unfortunately this means Russia will no longer be able to take part in this year’s competition. We very much wanted all 43 countries to be able to participate and did all we could to achieve this," reads the EBU statement.

Samoylova said that she was frustrated and expected until the last that she would still be allowed to take part in the contest.

Earlier, QHA reported that the singer Yulia Samoilova, who was supposed to represent Russia at the Eurovision Song Contest-2017, was officially banned by the Security Service of Ukraine from entering the territory of Ukraine for three years. The reason was that Yulia Samoilova performed in the city of Kerch in the occupied Crimea in 2015, violating the Ukrainian legislation.

PHOTO: Internet