May 11, the Council of Ministers of the European Union approved a visa-free travelling to EU countries for Ukrainian citizens, the President of Ukraine Petro Poroshenko informed on Facebook.

The Head of state noted that the relevant act will be signed on May 17.

“YES! We did it!!! The Council of Ministers of the European Union has just approved the final decision on granting us, citizens of Ukraine, the right to visa-free travelling.

May 17 in Strasbourg - as agreed with our European friends – we will solemnly sign the relevant legislation. This, probably, will be one of my most important visits for three years as a President.

I am infinitely grateful to everyone, who enabled me to fulfill one of my main election promises. I congratulate you, dear compatriots, to this historic decision.

It's like going home after a long and exhausting journey ... Returning to our common European home. We break with the post-Soviet past and increasingly become part of a single European civilizational space.

Appreciate your Ukrainian passport. And love Ukraine!”

Earlier, on April 6, the European Parliament supported granting of visa-free travelling to the EU countries for Ukraine, and on April 26 the procedure was assured by the ambassadors of the EU. It is expected that the visa-free regime will come into force in June 2017, after which the citizens of Ukraine will be able to stay in the EU countries within 90 days every six months.

PHOTO: Internet