The European Union does not recognize the election results on the Crimean peninsula, as well as the illegal annexation of Crimea and Sevastopol by the Russian Federation in 2014, reads the statement by the Spokesperson of the European External Action Service on the elections for the Duma in the Russian Federation.

“The OSCE/ODIHR Election Observation Mission did not conduct any activities in the illegally-annexed territories of Crimea and Sevastopol. Participation of EU Member States' diplomats in observation activities within the framework of the OSCE/ODIHR monitoring mission was also limited to the recognized territory of the Russian Federation, which does not include the illegally-annexed territories. The European Union remains unwavering in its support for the territorial integrity and sovereignty of Ukraine.”

The interstate association refuses to recognize the State Duma deputies elected in Crimea.

“They will be treated in accordance with the policy of non-recognition by the European Union of the Crimea and Sevastopol (joining the Russian Federation),” says the speaker.

The elections to the State Duma of the Russian Federation were held on September 18.

A number of countries, including the United States, Canada, France, and Sweden refused to recognize their validity on the territory of the annexed Crimea.

Polish Foreign Ministry has called into question the legitimacy of the parliamentary elections to the State Duma of Russia as a whole.

"People's Front" Faction has registered a draft resolution No. 5135 of non-recognition of the legitimacy of the newly elected RF State Duma, on Monday, September 19.

Photo: Internet