The decision to extend the sanction lists was encouraged by Russia holding the elections in the occupied territory.

“Taking into account organization of the elections to the State Duma of the Russian Federation in the illegally annexed Crimea and Sevastopol, the Council [EU - ed.] believes that six more people should be added to the list of individuals and companies that are subject to restrictive measures,” reads the document.

It refers to six deputies of the Russian Federation State Duma, who took their positions due to the elections in the annexed peninsula. Total 8 deputies were elected in the occupied Crimea to the State Duma, but two of them, including the former "Prosecutor of Crimea" Natalia Poklonskaya are already under sanctions. In October, sanctions against Russia were extended for six months under a collective decision of the five European Union state members.