(QHA) -

The Victims of Communism Memorial Foundation named two leading Ukrainian human rights activists as the 2014 recipients of the Truman-Reagan Medal of Freedom: Crimean Tatar leader, Soviet dissident Mustafa Jemilev and founder of Amnesty International Ukraine, vice-rector of the Ukrainian Catholic University Myroslav Marynovych.

"It is our privilege and honor to bestow this award upon two individuals who have worked so courageously to ensure that future generations will live in a world free of the horrors that came from living under a communist regime," said Marion Smith, Executive Director of the Victims of Communism foundation, in announcing the award.

 "Mustafa Jemilev and Myroslav Marynovych demonstrate that the fight to realize freedom and democracy across the world is never easy," said Dr. Lee Edwards, Foundation chairman. "The daily struggle to gain and preserve liberty against all forms of tyranny is one we all must wage"- he added.

 The Truman-Reagan Medal of Freedom is awarded each year by the Victims of Communism Memorial Foundation to those individuals and institutions that have demonstrated a life-long commitment to freedom and democracy and opposition to communism and all other forms of tyranny. The award will be presented on June 11th at a ceremony hosted by the Victims of Communism Memorial Foundation at the Victims of Communism Memorial on Capitol hill in Washington, D.C.