(QHA) -

In retaliation against Western sanctions, Russian President Vladimir Putin on Wednesday signed a decree banning or limiting imports of food and agricultural products from countries that have imposed sanctions on Russia.

The decree, whose text was released on August 6, says such imports will be "banned or restricted" for one year.

Putin also ordered his government to come up with a list of goods whose imports are to be banned or restricted.

On August 5, Putin said the government should make sure the retaliatory measures do not hurt Russian consumers.

Moscow has already imposed bans on certain agricultural imports from Ukraine, Moldova, and several EU countries.

The Russian bans follow new sanctions imposed by the United States and the European Union against Russia's banking, oil, and energy sectors over Moscow's perceived backing of pro-Russian separatists fighting government forces in eastern Ukraine.