December 5, Russia and China vetoed the UN Security Council resolution on the establishment of the ceasefire regime in Syrian Aleppo for a period of 7 days.

Russia has blocked the UN Security Council resolution for the sixth time since the beginning of the civil war in Syria in 2011. China has also used the veto against the resolution five times.

The document was developed by Spain, Egypt and New Zealand. Venezuela was among the countries that voted "against" the resolution, while Ukraine, France, USA, UK and other countries voted “in favour.”

The Syrian city of Aleppo has been besieged for a long time. The city remains the biggest settlement controlled by Assad's opponents. Russian Aerospace Forces (VKS) and Assad regime regularly cause air strikes on the local civilian population to recapture it from the rebels.

Photo: Internet