March 20, 2016. A group of Ukrainian MPs from Petro Poroshenko Block and Batkivschyna parties went to Russia to be present when passing sentence on Nadezhda Savchenko in the court of Rostov region, Iryna Gerashchenko, Ukrainian presidential envoy for the peaceful settlement of the Donbas conflict, posted on her Facebook page.  

So, on behalf of Ukrainian President Petro Poroshenko, the following persons left for Rostov region: Maria Ionova, Olena Kondratyuk, Iryna Lutsenko, Oleksiy Ryabchyn, Vadym Ivchenko, Sergiy Evtushok, Valery Dubil, Victor Kryvenko, as well as the representative of the President of Ukraine and his spokesman Svyatoslav Tsegolko.

“We read yesterday that a support group of Nadezhda Savchenko was denied entry to Russia. I hope they're smart enough to allow MPs having diplomatic passports, some of whom are members of PACE and other international organizations, be present in the court. Otherwise it would be too demonstrative,” Iryna Gerashchenko wrote. 

It was reported earlier that on March 20, one of the support groups of Nadezhda Savchenko was banned from entering Russia. The activists intended to support a Ukrainian pilot when passing sentence on her.

PHOTO: Iryna Gerashchenko’s Facebook page