Ukraine, along with Albania, Montenegro and Norway joined the decision to extend the sanctions of the EU Council against Russia for another six months, the press service of the EU Council reported.

Countries undertake to pursue their policies in accordance with the sanctions imposed on Russia.

"They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision. The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it,” reads the statement.

Earlier, the European Union extended the term of economic sanctions against Russia until July 31, 2018. The corresponding decision was made on Thursday, December 21, by the European Council. The basis for the extension of sanctions was, as in previous years, Moscow's failure to fully implement the Minsk agreements on the settlement of the conflict in eastern Ukraine.