Iraqi activists Nadia Murad and Lamia Haji Bashar have received the Sakharov Prize for "a campaign to protect the Yazidis, who were enslaved by ISIS terrorists," according to the Twitter account of Rikard Jozwiak, a Brussels correspondent of Radio Liberty.

 “The Yezidi activists Murad and Bashar have won the 2016 Sakharov Prize, despite Dzhemilev won the most votes in the committee,” the journalist tweeted.

October 6, the European Parliament has identified a short list of candidates for the Sakharov Prize. Among them was Mustafa Dzhemilev nominated by the major political blocs of the European Parliament: the European People's Party, and the Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe.

Reference. The Sakharov prize for Freedom of Thought is awarded annually by the European Parliament. It was established in 1988 to honor people and organizations protecting human rights and fundamental freedoms. Both political groups and at least 40 Members of Parliament can nominate a candidate. On the basis of the nominations, the European Parliament Committees on Foreign Affairs and Development vote for the list of three finalists. After that, the Conference of Presidents selects the winner. 

Photo: Internet