On May 24, a documentary film "Mustafa" about the leader of the Crimean Tatar people, Ukrainian MP Mustafa Dzhemilev was shown in Washington. The screening took place at the head office of the National Endowment for Democracy.

After the screening of the documentary, a discussion was held about the situation with observance of human rights in the annexed Crimea, repressions against the Crimean Tatars on the peninsula.

Apart from Mustafa Dzhemilev, the event was attended by the Head of the board of public organization CrimeaSOS Tamila Tasheva, a researcher at Harvard University Paula Dobriansky and a representative of the US State Department Jorgan Andrews.

In her speech Tasheva noted that the hunger strike of Mustafa Dzhemilev was the longest in human history-it lasted 303 days.

“Today in Russia, in the modern gulag, the Ukrainian filmmaker Oleg Sentsov, who was imprisoned by the Russian Federation for 20 years for alleged terrorist activities, is on hunger strike. He said that he will go on until his demands are fulfilled or until the end. He is starving not for his release, but for the release of all Ukrainian political prisoners, who are already over 70 people now. We must do everything in our power to prevent Oleg Sentsov from dying in prison," she said.

In Washington, Mustafa Dzhemilev was awarded the Medal for Serving Democracy of the National Endowment for Democracy (NED), founded by the US Congress.

This award was given to such outstanding people, among them Lech Wałęsa, Václav Havel, Dalai Lama and others.

Earlier QHA reported that Mustafa Dzhemilev met in Washington with representatives of the US Administration, congressmen, senators and experts.

The key topics of the meetings were the restoration of the territorial integrity of Ukraine, the fight against the violation of human rights and freedoms in the Crimea temporarily occupied by Russia, as well as the support of the Crimean Tatar people and Ukrainian activists on the peninsula, particularly in the context of the release of political prisoners held by the occupiers in the Crimea and the territory of the Russian Federation.