President of Ukraine Petro Poroshenko has congratulated the Kyiv residents who will host the 2017 Eurovision next year.

“Kyiv has become Eurovision 2017 host city. I congratulate Kyiv residents,” he twitted. 

Today, the Organizing Committee has announced the city that will host the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest. The winner is the capital of Ukraine - Kyiv. According to the Minister of Culture Yevheniy Nyshchuk, it was nearly a 3-month intrigue to finally find out what city will host the Eurovision.

The city to host the song contest has been determined for more than a month with the next cities being among the applicants: Kyiv, Dnipro, Lviv, Odesa, Kharkiv and Kherson. The cities of Kyiv, Odesa and Dnipro came to the final.

As QHA reported earlier, the August 25 briefing, at which the city-winner to host the 2017 Eurovision had to be announced, was postponed.

The Cabinet of Ministers has allocated UAH 450 million from the reserve fund to the State Committee for Television and Radio Broadcasting on holding the international song contest.

Ukrainian singer Jamala of the Crimean Tatar descent took first place at the 2016 Eurovision, so the contest will be held in Ukraine.

Photo: QHA, Internet