The European Union has welcomed the extension of sanctions against Russia, until March 15, 2017, by five partner countries, the EU High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy Federica Mogherini stated.

According to her, the restrictive measures against Russia were extended by Montenegro, Albania, Norway, Liechtenstein and Ukraine.

“The EU took note of this decision and welcomes it,” Mogherini said.

On September 15, the European Union extended the validity of the blacklist of individuals and organizations of Russia and Ukraine for six months. It includes representatives of the Russian leadership, Russian politicians, businessmen and security officials, as well as almost all leadership of the self-proclaimed "Donetsk and Luhansk People's Republics" ("DPR" and "LPR"). Moreover, 37 organizations are added to the list, including all known "military and political structures of the 'DPR' and 'LPR'," with which the European business is forbidden to maintain any relationships.

The blacklist for Russia is only one of the three independent packages of EU sanctions. Apart from it, within the framework of the EU strategy for the non-recognition of the reunification of the peninsula with Russia, sectoral economic sanctions will remain in force until the end of January 2017, and the trade and travel restrictions with regard to Crimea – until the end of June 2017.

Photo: Internet