Ukrainian President Petro Poroshenko has signed a decree approving the membership of the National Security and Defense Council of Ukraine (NSDC).

The decree was published on the Web site of the head of state on June 16.

According to the document, Poroshenko is the chairman of the council, and Andriy Parubiy is its secretary.

The NSDC also includes Prime Minister Arseniy Yatseniuk, First Deputy Prime Minister Vitaliy Yarema, SBU Chief Valentyn Nalyvaichenko, Head of the Foreign Intelligence Service Viktor Hvozd, Interior Minister Arsen Avakov, Acting Ukrainian Foreign Minister Andriy Deschytsia, Acting Defense Minister Mykhailo Koval, Finance Minister Oleksandr Shlapak, Justice Minister Pavlo Petrenko, and Presidential Administration Chief Borys Lozhkin.

As for Verkhovna Rada Chairman Oleksandr Turchynov, Acting Prosecutor General Oleh Makhnitsky and Governor of the National Bank of Ukraine Stepan Kubiv they are also included in the NSDC by consent.

The decree enters into force on the date of publication.