The National Security and Defense Committee voted in support of the amended presidential bill on self-government in the Donbas.

8 deputies supported the bill, and 4 deputies voted "against". Nadezhda Savchenko refrained from voting.

The bill provides that the special status of certain areas of Donbas will be extended for another year, but after the fulfillment of all the conditions specified in Art. 10 of the law "On the special order of local self-government in certain areas of Donetsk and Luhansk regions." In particular, after all illegal armed formations and military equipment are withdrawn.

In addition, the committee proposed to the Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine to adopt a bill in which the words "the Minsk Protocol (September 5, 2014), the Minsk Memorandum (September 19, 2014) and the Package of Measures (12.02.2015)" to be replaced by the words "UN Security Council resolutions adopted in connection with Russian armed aggression against Ukraine in Donetsk and Luhansk regions ".

Earlier, Poroshenko submitted two bills to the Verkhovna Rada in which Russia is recognized as an aggressor and occupier, and uncontrolled parts of the Donetsk and Luhansk regions are designated as occupied territories.

Previously, on October 4, the Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine registered a bill on the specifics of state policy to ensure Ukraine's state sovereignty over temporarily occupied territories in Donetsk and Luhansk regions. People's Deputy of Ukraine Artur Gerasimov noted that the parliament should pass the law before October 18.

According to the text of the document, Russia is recognized as an occupier, and instead of the "Antiterrorist operation" the concept of "Russian armed aggression" is introduced.

The goal of the law is the liberation of the occupied territories of the Luhansk and Donetsk regions.

Source: Ukrainian truth